Museum of Arts and Design

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

Named for Marian and Russell Burke, two passionate collectors of craft and longtime supporters of MAD, the Burke Prize is an annual award that reinforces the Museum’s commitment to celebrating the next generation of artists working in and advancing the disciplines that shaped the American studio craft movement. 

The prize is an unrestricted $50,000 award made to a professional artist age 45 or under working in glass, fiber, clay, metal, or wood. 

Each fall, the Museum presents an exhibition of works by the Burke Prize finalists. The winner is announced at the MAD Ball, the Museum’s annual fundraising gala. Learn about the 2018 Burke Prize finalists and exhibition here

The Burke Prize finalists and winner are determined by an annual jury, chaired by MAD's chief Curator, and professionals in the fields of art, craft, and design, following an open application process.

2019 Jurors

Julia Bryan-Wilson, Doris and Clarence Malo Professor, University of California, Berkeley  

Valeria Cassel-Oliver,  Sydney and Frances Lewis Family Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art , Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Cannupa Hanska Luger, Artist and Burke Prize 2018 Winner

For more information please visit:

Museum of Arts and Design